Year-End Union Honors 2019-2020

The Union and its various organizations recognized students and staff for their outstanding contributions in a virtual awards ceremony on May 6, 2020. The recognition video honoring these individuals can be viewed here or below, or scroll to see a text list of the winners.

Union Ambassadors

Advisor Choice Award: Hannah Steinert

Union Ambassador of the Year: Lily Hurt

Union Governing Board

Committee Member of the Year: Matthew Swords

Union Program Council

​Program of the Year: Glo-cade

Committee of the Year: After Hours

Stanley L. Winter Alpha Tau Omega Leadership Scholarship

Winner: Lily Hurt, Union Ambassador

This scholarship perpetuates the memory of Stanley L. Winter on the campus of Kansas State University and provides educational opportunities and assistance for upper-level students who possess exemplary attributes in scholarship, fellowship and character.

Employee Achievement Award

The Employee Achievement Award recognizes employees that exemplify and embody the mission and values of the Union.

Staff winner: Joel Knarr, computer systems manager, IT Services

Knarr was selected for his quick turnaround reworking the Union's event management system to reflect changes to rooms and their equipment and furnishings. He also made significant updates to the equipment and room setup sheet, which helps reservations and building operations staff.

Student winner: Andrew Marsh, graduate advisor, Union Program Council

Marsh was selected for stepping in to provide onsite support for the UPC Axe to Grind event when the two staff members scheduled to help were sick.