Union Student Employees Honored with Scholarships

Jon Levin Scholarships

Leadership at the K-State Student Union is built from the ground up, starting with students. The Union has awarded $9,750 in scholarships to its student employees and leaders in recognition for their contributions to the Union’s success.

The Union grants $250 scholarships to its student employees through the Jon Levin Student Union General Scholarship, the purpose of which is to provide financial assistance to student employees who are properly enrolled in any curriculum at Kansas State University. Scholarship winners received $250 for the spring 2017 semester and were selected by the Union Scholarship Selection Committee.

Named after Jon Levin, 2014 Vision Award winner, the scholarship is funded by Follett Higher Education Group and the K-State Campus Store. Once called the Part-Time Student Scholarship, it was realigned as an internal scholarship in 2013 and renamed to its current moniker in 2014.

 Jon Levin Student Union General Scholarship Recipients:

Conner Seitz, senior in milling science, Arkansas City; Britton Brownrigg, senior in biology, Buhler; Nichole Nieves, sophomore in biology, Junction City; Seth Boswell, senior accounting & finance, Kensington; Rachel Herter, senior in english, Larned; Alison Kinsley, junior in elementary education, Manhattan; Jeff Miller, senior in fine arts, Manhattan; Waynique Sims, senior in management, Manhattan; Julia Hall, junior in management, Marion; Kristen Steinlage, senior in family studies & human services, Sabetha; Pauline Dredger, senior in physics, Saint Marys; Cody Watson, senior in management, Solomon; Michelle Harper, senior in management, Topeka; Kaitlyn Ruiz, sophomore in animal sciences, Topeka and Laura Yarrow, senior in elementary education, Wakefield.

From the Greater Kansas City Area:

Christopher Kreiser, senior in chemical engineering, Edgerton; Jacob Phillips, senior in industrial engineering, Leavenworth; Noah Modean, sophomore in business administration, Leawood; Tori Tummons, junior in animal sciences, Mission; Tyler Samuelson, junior in mass communications, Olathe; Kathryn Wilber, senior in nutrition and health, Olathe and Erika Davis, graduate student in counseling and student development, Osawotomie.

From the Wichita Area:

Emily Day, sophomore in fine art, Andover; Kristen Ortleb, senior in fine arts, Andover; Abigail Agnew, senior in marketing, Haysville; Quintina Tillotson, senior in dietetics and gerontology, Valley Center; Zachary Goodner, sophomore in construction science & management, Wichita and Hannah Vu, senior in mass communications, Wichita.

From out of state:

Charlsie Fowler, junior in apparel and textiles, Englewood, CA; Morgan Wolfe, junior in mass communications, Monument, CO; Victor Cimino, graduate student in geology, St. Petersburg, FL; Katlyn Alexander, junior in park management & conservation, Monticello, IL; Charles Schneider, senior in kinesiology, Mustang, OK; Han Dong, senior in finance, Zhengzhou, China and Takayuki Kijima, senior in athletic training, Tokyo, Japan.

Union student leaders receiving scholarships include:

Kaitlin Flores, Union Program Council President, senior in psychology, Colorado Springs, CO; Andy Hurtig, Union Governing Board President, senior in accounting, Wichita, KS and Spencer Majka, Lead Union Ambassador, senior in political science, Cleveland, OH.

Follett Higher Education Group was awarded the contract to provide bookstore services to the K-State community and opened its doors as the K-State Campus Store in 2013. As the leading provider of bookstore services and the foremost supplier of used books in North America, Follett serves 5 million students with more than 1,000 stores. Follett continues to demonstrate support for student achievement and institutional success in Manhattan and has donated more than $100,000 to student scholarships and donations since partnering with the K-State community.