Employee Achievement Awards

Employee Achievement Award header

The K-State Student Union is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Employee Achievement Awards. The award is given annually to recognize a staff member and student employee who provide extraordinary service to the university community by going above and beyond job responsibilities, demonstrating leadership, inspiring others, contributing exceptionally to a project or reacting positively to an urgent situation.

Nominees for the award include any Union staff or student employee who has been nominated for the weekly Crunch Time Award during the same academic year, which uses the same criteria listed above. The winners were recognized at a reception Friday, May 4.

Staff Winner: Joseph Gibby, Maintenance

Joseph Gibby was nominated for his positive reaction when an urgent building maintenance situation arose. In February, a service company was in the building to complete work on the Union's natural gas supply regulators. Rather than a normal parts replacement, there was a problem with the actual supply to the building. He was involved in researching the problem. After the service company left, the adjusted gas supply caused the main gas meter to leak and Gibby assisted a university repair staff member for three hours in tearing down and rebuilding the gas meter to allow natural gas to be supplied to the Union.

Student Staff Winners: Seth Boswell and Elizabeth Scharping, Union Marketing

Seth Boswell and Elizabeth Scharping were jointly nominated for creating a new process for marketing staff members to report monthly data on the department's impact areas. They also designed and created the output reports. Each month they send requests to co-workers to collect the data, input the data into reports and then create comparison charts for the information.