Union Student Employees and Leaders Honored with Scholarships

Union south entrance stone sign

Leadership at the K-State Student Union is built from the ground up, starting with students. The Union awarded nearly $5000 in scholarships to student employees and leaders in recognition for contributions to the Union’s success.

The Union grants $250 scholarships to student employees through the Jon Levin Student Union General Scholarship, the purpose of which is to provide financial assistance to student employees who are properly enrolled in any curriculum at Kansas State University. Scholarship winners received $250 for the fall 2018 semester and were selected by the Union Scholarship Selection Committee.

Named after Jon Levin, 2014 Vision Award winner, the scholarship is funded by Follett Higher Education Group and the K-State Campus Store. Once called the Part-Time Student Scholarship, it was realigned as an internal scholarship in 2013 and renamed to its current moniker in 2014.

Jon Levin Student Union General Scholarship Recipients

Seth Boswell, senior in accounting and finance, Kensington; Lilibeth Burkhart, junior in pre-occupational therapy and family studies and human services, Newton; Emily Day, senior in fine arts, Andover; Zachary Goodner, senior in construction science and management, Wichita; Julia Hall, senior in marketing and management, Marion; Michelle Harper, graduate student in management, Topeka; Hannah Stallbaumer, junior in construction science and management, Seneca; Jensen Strasser, senior in psychology, Garden City.

From the Greater Kansas City Area:

Erika Davis, graduate student in counseling and student development, Osawotomie; Noah Modean, sophomore in business administration, Leawood; Camila Rivera, graduate assistant for UPC, Kansas City, MO; Logan Robertson, senior in fine arts, Shawnee; Ashly Rojas, sophomore in marketing, Kansas City, KS.

From out of state:

Max Jenkins, junior in psychology, Omaha, Nebraska.

Fall 2018 K-State Student Union Leadership Scholarship

The Union has a history of student governance, with opportunities for students to take on leadership roles that require a higher degree of time and dedication. In recognition of outstanding effort and commitment, a $500 scholarship for the 2018-19 academic year has been awarded to the president of Union Program Council, the president of Union Governing Board and the lead Union Ambassador, respectively:

Lillian (Kate) King-Hagen, senior in modern languages and human resources management, Overland Park; Jordan Martin, senior in computer science and mathematics, Spring Hill and Kyle McGuire, senior in marketing, Atchison.

Follett Higher Education Group was awarded the contract to provide bookstore services to the K-State community and opened its doors as the K-State Campus Store in 2013. As the leading provider of bookstore services and the foremost supplier of used books in North America, Follett serves 5 million students with more than 1,000 stores. Follett continues to demonstrate support for student achievement and institutional success in Manhattan, and has donated more than $100,000 to student scholarships and donations since partnering with the K-State community.