2019-2020 Leadership Selected for Union Organizations

Union south entrance stone sign

The leadership teams for several K-State Student Union organizations have been set for the 2019-2020 academic year. The Union looks forward to another great year of events and opportunities thanks to the hard work and dedication of these individuals.

Union Ambassadors

Union Ambassadors provide outstanding student leaders with the opportunity to promote the Union to prospective students, on-campus organizations and the Manhattan and K-State communities.

Lily Hurt was selected to serve as lead ambassador, with Emily Everhart, Nathan Sellers, and Riley Seuser selected as community leads for fraternity and sorority life, residence halls, and K-State, respectively. Union Ambassadors are the face and voice of the Union. Ambassadors represent the student spirit of the Union, serving as the initial contact point through various customer interactions and are the liaisons between campus organizations and living environments and the Union. They are expected to assist with major campus recruitment events and be actively involved in the K-State community.

2019-20 Union Ambassadors: Elizabeth Donaldson, junior in animal sciences and industry, Berryton; Jenna Groene, junior in business administration, Winfield; Lily Hurt, sophomore in food science in industry, Wichita; Paul Kruse, junior in sociology, Hanover; Mikayla Quinn, sophomore in kinesiology, pre-occupational therapy and gerontology, Louisburg; Agustin Rodriguez, junior in computer engineering, Garden City;  Lauren Russell, sophomore in kinesiology, Derby; Hannah Steinert, senior in nutrition and health, Derby; Taylor Wemer, junior in finance, Augusta

From the Greater Kansas City Area:  Karly Brungardt, sophomore in milling science and management, Bonner Springs; Emily Everhart, senior in sociology, pre-med and life sciences, Olathe; Emily Meeks, sophomore in social work, Olathe; Riley Seuser, sophomore in business administration, Basehor;

From Out of State: Haidar Almatar, senior in clinical lab science and microbiology, Saudi Arabia; Dyllan Boykin, junior in chemical engineering, Granbury, Texas; Kendal Janousek, junior in social work and gerontology, Big Lake, Minn.; Nathan Sellers, junior in computer science, St. Louis, Mo.;

Find more information about the Union Ambassadors here or call 785-532-6597.

Union Program Council

Union Program Council (UPC) has selected its executive board and committee co-chairs for 2019-2020. UPC plans more than 160 entertaining, educational, cultural and substance-free events each year for K-State students and the Manhattan community. 


Programs Manager: Beth Bailey

Program Administrative Assistant: Kelly VanCleave

UPC Graduate Advisor: Andrew Marsh, graduate student in business administration, Haysville

Executive Board

President: Michael Varhola, junior in construction science and management, Overland Park

Vice President for Membership: Alexis Burns, graduate student in family studies and human services, Overland Park

Vice President for Operations: Gretchen Heidebrecht, junior in accounting, McPherson

Committee Co-Chairs

After Hours: Mary Carr, freshman in life sciences and pre-nursing, Lawrence; Hayley Green, freshman in hospitality management, Olathe; Katie MacDonald, sophomore in business administration, Lenexa; Olivia Roberts, sophomore in open option, Olathe

Arts: Lakshmi Dandi, junior in finance, Merriam; Ethan Doherty, junior in interior architecture and product design, Girard

Campus Entertainment: Rachel Anderson, senior in marketing, Rose Hill; Abby Sarvis, senior in modern languages and hospitality management, Manhattan; Sydney Stewart, sophomore in life sciences and pre-nursing, Leawood

Community: Ivy Bogle, junior in hospitality management, Cameron, Mo.; Aubrey Koontz, senior in interior design, El Dorado

Daytime Programs: Kristin Fisher, senior in marketing, Topeka; Machaela Madsen, sophomore in agriculture economics, Olathe

Films: Jennifer Gamblian, junior in animal sciences and industry, Topeka; Elly Lang, freshman in hospitality management, Hays

Forums: Jean Grumblatt, junior in communication studies, North Chesterfield, Va.; Siera Shirley, sophomore in hospitality management, Wichita

Multicultural: Mohammed Al Abdullah, senior in industrial engineering, Dubai, United Arab Emirates; Linda Hamuli, sophomore in food science and industry, Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo; Charumathi Jagadheeswaran, senior in architectural engineering, Chennai, India

Music: Alexsis Garles, junior in entrepreneurship, Topeka; Sarah Green, senior in geology, Olathe; Natalie Moyer, sophomore in business administration, Independence, Mo.

Find more information about Union Program Council here or call 785-532-6571.

Union Governing Board

The Union Governing Board (UGB) serves as the general governing and policy-making body of the Union. UGB consists of 18 voting members: 14 students and four faculty members or administrators. Non-voting members of the Union staff include a programming staff member, an operations staff member, the administrative assistant and an ex-officio member. 

President/Student at Large: Vedant Kulkarni, sophomore in management information systems, and pre-journalism and mass communications, Nashik, India

Vice President/Student at Large: Grace Palcic, junior in philosophy and political science, Olathe

Secretary: Matt Swords, sophomore in business administration, Gardner

Graduate Student Council Representative: James Lin, graduate student in agronomy, Germantown, Md.

MSO Representative: Camden Mayfield, freshman in mechanical engineering, Kansas City

Student Alumni Board Representative: Keaton Petite, senior in finance, Junction City

Student Senate Representative: Sara Wallace, sophomore in biochemistry, Overland Park

Union Ambassador Representative: Lily Hurt, Union Ambassador Rep, sophomore in food science in industry, Wichita

UPC Representative: Michael Varhola, junior in construction science and management, Overland Park

Students at Large: Mohammed Al Abdullah, senior in industrial engineering, Dubai, United Arab Emirates; Jack Dunfield, senior in anthropology and business administration, Leawood; Hannah Heatherman, junior in finance, Ottawa; Marcus Kidd, graduate Ph.D. in counseling and student development, Manhattan; Aryan Tayal, sophomore in computer engineering, Overland Park

Faculty/Administration Representatives: Rebecca Hackemann-Bahlmann, assistant professor, Art Department; Ryan Leimkuehler, assistant professor, K-State Libraries; Steve Martini, director, Peters Recreational Services

Alumni Staff Representative: Krista Darting, associate director of membership/marketing, Alumni 

Union Staff Representatives: Craig Johnson, associate director/director of operations; Beth Bailey, assistant director/program manager

Appointed by UGB President: Bill Muir, ex-officio

Union Director: Corey Williamson, executive director

Union Administrative Officer: Medina Roynon, recorder

Find more information about Union Governing Board here or call 785-532-6591.

Union Corporation Board

The K-State Student Union Corporation Board is an eight-member panel whose role is to direct, advise and vote on matters of business for the K-State Union Corporation. Members of the Board include three K-State students elected by the Union Governing Board, the president of the university, the vice president for student life, the vice president for administration and finance, a K-State faculty member and the director of the Union as a non-voting member.

President: Hannah Heatherman, junior in finance, Ottawa

Vice President: James Lin, graduate student in agronomy, Germantown, Md.

Secretary: Marcus Kidd, graduate Ph.D. in counseling and student development, Manhattan

Find more information about Union Corporation Board here or call 785-532-6591.