Leadership Selected for Union Organizations

The leadership teams for several K-State Student Union organizations have been set for the 2018-2019 academic year. The Union looks forward to another great year of events and opportunities thanks to the hard work and dedication of these individuals.

Union Ambassadors

Union Ambassadors provide outstanding student leaders with the opportunity to promote the Union to prospective students, on-campus organizations and the Manhattan and K-State communities.

Seven new ambassadors were chosen to join nine returning ambassadors from the 2017-2018 term, with Kyle McGuire selected to serve as lead ambassador. Union Ambassadors are the face and voice of the Union. Ambassadors represent the student spirit of the Union, serving as the initial contact point through various customer interactions and are the liaisons between campus organizations and living environments and the Union. They are expected to assist with major campus recruitment events and be actively involved in the K-State community.

2018-19 Union Ambassadors: Addison Beutler, junior in agricultural communication and journalism, Ness City; Thomas Christenson, junior in finance, Derby; Elijah Darey, junior in biochemistry, Wamego; Elizabeth Donaldson, sophomore in animal sciences and industry, Berryton; Lily Hurt, freshman in food science and industry, Wichita; Kyle McGuire, senior in marketing, Atchison; Lauren Russell, freshman in kinesiology, Derby; Hannah Steinert, junior in nutrition and health, Derby

From the Greater Kansas City Area: Emily Everhart, junior in sociology, Olathe; Noah Kaifes, senior in marketing, Merriam; Muhjaazee Love, junior in mechanical engineering, Kansas City; Konnor Pendland, graduate student in landscape architecture, Leawood; Reagan Sheffield, junior in pre-professional secondary education, Olathe and Morgan Stahl, senior in civil engineering, Olathe

From Out of State: Haidar Almatar, senior in clinical laboratory science, Saudia Arabia; Nathan Sellers, sophomore in computer science, Chesterfield, Mo. and Ben Thompson, sophomore in life sciences, Omaha, Neb.

For more information about the Union Ambassadors, click here or call 785-532-6597.

Union Program Council

Union Program Council (UPC) has selected its executive board and committee co-chairs for 2018-2019. UPC plans more than 160 entertaining, educational, cultural and substance-free events each year for K-State students and the Manhattan community. 


Programs Manager: Beth Bailey

Program Advisor: Erika Davis

Program Administrative Assistant: Kelly VanCleave

UPC Graduate Advisor: Camila Rivera

After Hours Graduate Advisor: Andrew Marsh

Executive Board

President: Kate King-Hagen

VP for Membership: Dara El-Shaarawi

VP for Operations: Tori Everett

Committee Co-Chairs

After Hours: Alexis Burns, Chance Pemberton, Katy Trupp, Gretchen Heidebrecht

Arts: Jacquelynn Ruwwe, Ivy Bogle

Campus Entertainment: Laken Horton, Michael Varhola, Swap Gupta, Sarah Bures

Community: Kennady King, Aubrey Koontz

Daytime Programs: Bethany Rich, McKenna Stout

Films: Jennifer Gamblian, Anna DePastino

Forums: Emily Muckelbauer, Derrius Washington

Multicultural: Abby Sarvis, Oluchi Amakoh

Music: Haley Meyers, Ben Weigel, Amanda Coatney

Promotions: Emily Lenk, Caroline Webster

For more information about Union Program Council, click here or call 785-532-6571.

Union Governing Board

The Union Governing Board (UGB) serves as the general governing and policy-making body of the Union. UGB consists of 18 voting members: 14 students and four faculty members or administrators. Non-voting members of the Union staff include a programming staff member, an operations staff member, the administrative assistant and an ex-officio member. 

Students: Kate King-Hagen, secretary/UPC representative; Jack Dunfield, student at large; Vedant Kulkarni, vice president/student at large; Jordan Martin, president/student at large; Matt Mindrup, student at large; Jansen Penny, student at large; Stepan Dilkes, student at large; Nathan Anderson, student at large; Marcus Kidd, student at large; Kyle McGuire, Union Ambassador rep

Faculty/Administration Representatives: Steve Martini, director, Peters Recreational Services; Kaitlin Long, program coordinator, Leadership Studies

Alumni Staff Representative: Krista Darting, associate director of membership/marketing, Alumni 

Union Staff Representatives: Craig Johnson, associate director/director of operations; Beth Bailey, assistant director/program manager

Appointed by UGB President: Bill Muir, ex-officio

Union Director: Bill Smriga, executive director

Union Administrative Officer: Medina Roynon, recorder

For more information about Union Governing Board, click here or call 785-532-6591.